Gayatri on the Brain

Do You Chant?

One day a very pretentious person asked me if I chant. Of course I said yes, I am Catholic after all.

BibleWhen a Catholic hears the word “Chant” the first thing that comes to mind is something like:

Agnus Dei qui tollis peccata mundi, Miserere nobis.                                                                                  (Lamb of God you take away the sins of the world, have mercy on us).

Noting like a Gregorian chant to get the juices flowing.

But that is not what he meant. I could hear is pretention across the cellular waves.

Then he said, “No I mean mantras.”
I wanted to reply, “If that is what you meant, why didn’t you say it?” But I didn’t, I just said, “oh, no.”

I had forgotten the conversation and I put it out of my mind completely when we went our separate ways. The word came up again when I was looking at information regarding Ayurvedic practices. Without the affectation behind it, it sounded interesting.

  • I studied the seed sounds: Om, Kleem, Shreem…..
  • I studied the deities and why we chant to each particular one.
  • I learned the difference between Namaha and Swaha.
  • I learned why we need to do it at least 108 times in one sitting.
  • I learned what obtaining siddhi means.

So of course I gave it a go, because, well, that is what I do. I had my Mala beads and I got comfortable. The first one I chanted in earnest was Kleem. It is said that chanting Kleem draws to one universal abundance. I wasn’t after any one form of abundance, just in general…material or otherwise

I would start Kleem-ing, but then something strange happened. My mind wanted to keep chanting the Gayatri Mantra (short form). Why? I don’t know.

 

Gayatri

I took the time to learn this Mantra even before I wanted to learn more about Mantra’s. I found a YouTube video with it, and thought it sounded transcending. I would play it and fall asleep to it.

I later learned that the Gayatri is one of the oldest and most powerful of the mantras. This explains my affinity for it even though I had no idea what they were saying.

Gayatri mantra (short form)

Aum
Bhuh Bhuvah Sva
Tat Savitur Varenyam
Bhargo Devasya Dheemahi
Dhiyo Yo nah Prachodayat

In simplified terms it means: “O Divine mother, our hearts are filled with darkness. Please make this darkness distant from us and promote illumination within us.”

It can be slightly different depending on the translation.

Gayatri_Mantra

So here I am Kleem-ing, with as much concentration as I can muster, and then the melody of Gayatri slips in messing me up. Why did it do that? I think there was a strong need for me to dispel whatever darkness was within/around me.

Doing the Kleem mantra 108 times isn’t too tough. It takes about 10-20 minutes depending on the length of the Kleem. There is: Kleem, Kleem, Kleem and then there is Kleeeeeeeeemmmmmmm, Kleeeeeeeeemmmmmmm, Kleeeeeeeeemmmmmmm. I chose the latter; I enjoyed the vibration in my third eye.

However, the Gayatri can take 1 hour. I never was able to recite the Gayatri 108 times in one sitting. Sometimes during the day, I recite it to myself several times, but not for a reason, it just comforts me. For me, that is of great benefit.

 

Am I Doing This Right?

I am convinced I wasn’t doing it right, or I didn’t do it enough, or I wasn’t faithful, devout, holy, Hindu enough, because no amazing outward manifestations occurred.

I wasn’t looking for a quick fix. I’ve learned about too many practices to expect miracles, but I did expect to see something. The only Mantra that ever did anything for me was the Gayatri, it brought me peace.

There are several YouTube videos of people who claim they did this mantra or that and got loads of abundance in money, property, love, luck.

This isn’t to say that NOTHING came my way. I got a lot of discounts on my current monthly bills such as Mobile phone and Cable. I also received a partial scholarship, so things are coming my way.

I just find it interesting that some people allegedly got everything they ever wanted, money falling from the tree in their back yard, finding oil under their petunias…OK I’m exaggerating.

I still try to go a round of 108, but I’m not consistent. I don’t know if I should do Kleem or Shreem Brzee. Or just continue with the Gayatri that seems to not want to leave me for some reason.

We will see…stay tuned.

 

About Liz Kelso

www.lizkelso.com
This entry was posted in Mantra and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

