Me and the Tarot

Self Taught Mess

I taught myself how to read Tarot cards many years ago. I read for myself, and only once a year. More than that was not necessary. I would read my cards on Halloween (Samhain) and not read them again until the next Halloween.

I was a literal reader. I used a tarot book that explained what each card means in the upright and reversed positions. I did not use my Intuition or common sense. I read it at face value.

Yes I was a novice. I did only the Celtic Cross Spread and didn’t use clarifiers. Looking back, I realize I had no clue as to what I was doing. I did not have the advantage of YouTube way back then. All I learned about reading was from the few dense books that were available at the time.

Tarot

15 Years Later…

I recently started reading for myself again, after a 15 year hiatus.

I was speaking with another Tarot card reader on the phone recently, and she asked me if I read for myself. I told her I try, but I feel that it isn’t accurate because I see what I want to see in the cards. She said she doesn’t read for herself for the same reason.

If I wanted a positive outcome to a problem, I would clarify the shit out of that spread until I got some sort of positive answer.

Sometimes I still would not get the answer I was hoping for. Because of this possibility, I did not approach reading for myself with any excitement. No matter what spread I chose to use (I’ve learned a few more in the past 15 years), or which tarot deck(s) I used, I wanted a positive answer, and I wasn’t getting it.

I wanted to be in a romantic relationship with someone, but the cards were telling me, “It ain’t happening.” That is not what I wanted to hear. I wanted to hear, “Against all odds, you are destined to be together until death do you part.”

The cards were telling me what I didn’t want to hear, but what my intuition knew. I can see that in hindsight.

I’ve still don’t read for myself often. I may do a quick 3 card daily spread if I want a quick answer. However, I now use my intuition to read the cards, and only consult the book / web if I am unclear about it. That has been working better for me.

I also don’t ask “heavy questions”. I leave those for others who read for me.

Or I just let time do its work.

 

Other Can Read Me, Most of the Time

Fool copySome people who read my cards are pretty spot on. Others miss the mark completely. I take it all with a grain of salt, but at least when others read for me, I can’t make them say what I want to hear. They tell me what they feel or see. They tell me like it is. I can choose to ignore it or I can wait and watch.

I also don’t get a reading every other week. Two to Three times a year, max. This doesn’t include the self readings I give myself. I consider those readings practice. The readings by the professionals are limited. If I go to one of the better ones, I may not go for another reading for another 9 to 12 months. Sometimes, they can see that far ahead.

I usually shorten the period in between if I feel the reader misses the mark. I have narrowed my readers down to two, one in person reader and one phone reader.

I just visited the in person reader, therefore, I will not need another professional tarot card reading until at least January.

In between I will probably visit a medium, but that is a different animal.

 

Tips I Learned Along the Way

  • Learn the basic card meanings, but use your intuition to guide your reading
  • Learn a variety of spreads (Celtic Cross, Relationship Spread, Tree of Life Spread, etc.)
  • When reading for yourself learn to detach from the outcome
  • Go into the reading with a clear mindset
  • Have another read for you, preferably someone who has been doing it a while
  • Take it all with a grain of salt

It is nice to know what to expect, but it is even better to know that we have the power to change it through our perception.

 

 

 

About Liz Kelso

www.lizkelso.com
This entry was posted in Tarot and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

