Syncretist

coe

When people ask me what my religion is I say Catholic.  It’s just easier. I mean, I am Catholic. I was baptized, Communed and Confirmed in the Catholic Church. I go every week (Choir member), but does that make me stuck in the box? I don’t think so, but others do.

There is nothing wrong with being Cathollic (or whatever religion you are). There is also nothing wrong with being none of the above.

I don’t care what you are, as long as you don’t hurt anyone.  That fanatical shit though, it gets taken too far.

I also don’t think it is cool when people prosthelytize.  What makes one think that their religion is superior or the only one?

Yes, I go to Cathollic Church, I also practice Hindu Mantras, Buddhist ideas, Hoodoo, Santaria…etc. 

I didn’t know there was a word for this, it is known as Syncretism.

Syncretism: (noun) – reconcilliation or fusion of differing systems of belief, as in philosopy or religion.  Especially when success is partial or the result is heterogeneous.

So, if someone wishes to remain in their religious box, feel free, it’s all good. Just don’t put ME in one, or even worse, don’t expect me to jump into yours.

 

About Liz Kelso

www.lizkelso.com
This entry was posted in Religion, Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

